Posted by: Neurobites | October 15, 2012

Getting to know NOLA

image

Neuroloves, as promised I want you guys to get a feel of NOLA with us. Neuroscience is awesome and all (obviously we loves it) but there is more to the world then just Neuroscience (I know I know we are just wrapping our head around that concept too;)) So be forewarned. There. Is. NO. Neuroscience in this post. But there is sheer awesomeness;) A picture they say is worth a thousand words, so there will be plenty of that.

Let’s get right to it.

I don’t know about everyone else, but I am finding it exteremly difficult to describe New Orleans to anyone. The feel, the vibe, the atmosphere, the culture, the look or the people. It just blows my mind. I think the first thing that comes to anyones mind when they think New Orleans is the infamous Bourbon St. Rightly so, this street has earned it’s rep as being the street of sin. Bars, clubs, drinks, beads and intoxicated individuals can be found on every meter of this street. But as a non-drinker, non-partyer (shocked?!?! ) I took in the atmosphere and moved on, so the NOLA that I am getting to know is focused on the enviorment, the people and their incredible stories. Without a doubt there is more talent (musicians, singers, dancers, artists ect.) In one city block here then there are in entire cities anywhere else. It just blows my mind. Close your eyes and just feel I still stop at every single singer, musician and just stare with my jaw on the floor. It’s totes non-classy, not gonna lie.
First thing off the bat that you need to know, is the sheer amount of niceness, politeness and southern attitude/charm here is amazing. And this is coming from Canadian, we know polite. Construction workers tip their hard hats at you as you jog past them in the French Quarter, random individuals on the street look you in the eye and say how are you. Your barista, your bartender, your waitress, your random individual on the street “Hey Baby”,”Hey Sugar”, “Hey love” you. They call you beautiful, compliment you noncholantly and are very comfortable. Personally, I love this level of comfort with people, if you go through a day without meeting someone new or making someone blush/smile, seriously,to me that is a day wasted.
But going back to the Southern thing, people here move slow. I am telling ya, it drives me banana’s. I don’t know how to relax or walk in sedate lesuirely way, so I am baised when I say that people take their time doing anything here! I even had one of the construction workers telling me who I was racing as I waited for their truck to move out of my way. So I am learning to slow down. Somewhat;)
I know what you’re thinking now, tell us about the food! Man oh man. Let’s just say that I will be living at the gym when I get home. Unreal food. That is all I can say about it really. Spicy, loads of character and tons of fried food. By tons, I mean everything is fried here. I haven’t had something fried in years and NOLA just reminded me why. You can’t stop once you start:P

image

I don’t want to even talk about my beignet addiction. I am thinking of going into therapy.

image

Just a three man, no hands pyramid. No biggie.

image

I think this is some sort of palm plant..I failed first year plant bio (really who cares how plants make babies?!?!) *EDIT* one of our lovely lovely readers has idenified this beast as a cycad Thanks Sarcozona!

image

I want to live here.

If you’ve been to NOLA before and if you want us to eat, drink or dance somewhere for you..let us know. We aim to please;)

Stay amazing,
Rim

Responses

  1. I’ve never heard of a beignet but they look really good!

  2. It’s a cycad, not a palm. And their sperm have 40,000 tails.

    How plants make babies is AMAZING!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

